fashion · OOTD · Style Tips · Uncategorized

Personal Style In The Workplace

Sometimes choosing what to wear is not the easiest decision to make in the morning. Depending on where you’re headed that day, there may be some restrictions in what you get to choose to wear, but that shouldn’t mean sacrificing you’re own fashion sense in the process of complying.

I personally am fortunate enough to have a lot of freedom when it comes to dress code where I work. Being in the fashion business myself, I’m able to try my trendy outfits, corporate boss lady outfits, and my lazy day outfits without second guessing my choices all too much. I know that not everyone is awarded that same kind of luxury, so I figured I’d share some of my go-to basics that would be well within anyone’s dress code without being drab and boring.

  1. Tie Waist Palazzo Pants

One of my absolute favorite pair of pants so far this transition-to-fall season have been this navy blue pair of elastic waist palazzos with a tie belt. The waistline is extremely comfortable, the tie gives a bit of shape, and the wide leg gives a very professional look. So far I’ve paired these bad boys with my favorite wedges and a bubble gum pink shell. Another look was with low heel strappy sandals and a rich mustard yellow tee.

IMG_4388

IMG_5037

2. Culottes

Culottes are no new thing, but I still adore them so much. The ankle length adds a little youth to a plaid utilitarian print look, and again this pair has an elastic waist so I feel comfortable all day. These pants can really be dressed up with a button up and solid boyfriend blazer or can be more casual with a plain white tee and sandals. Typically I have comfort in mind when I go to work so the casual look has been a common one for me.IMG_4719

3. Border Print Knit Pants

Another pant idea would you look at that! But in my opinion, a good pair of pants can be a solid foundation in a variation of looks. Find the pants first, find different tops to change up the look later.

Anyway, here has been another must-have for me all fall. To me, these are my version of “adult leggings.” They are so comfortable, feel soft on the skin, can be paired with a tee or a nicer sweater, yet give the appearance of a well thought out and work appropriate outfit. Here I styled my print pants with a graphic tee, white watch, and some classic black mules. I had an over-sized black cardigan with me too for when I went into meetings and felt the need to dress up the overall look a little bit.IMG_4683

I don’t know about you, but I feel very fashion forward in all four of these looks and I didn’t have to sacrifice comfort or question dress code restrictions in the process. Your style should always feel true to you, whether in the work place, at school, or as just your genuine self in your social life too. You should always feel like you even if there are regulations in place that could affect your own personal style. Look for the loopholes, the crazy pants that adhere to dress code, the comfy tee that can be paired with a blazer, or whatever else you may have in mind. Your personal style is yours and yours alone, so take the time to find what meets those regulations, but in YOUR way!

Leave a comment